Navagraha Puja

The Navagraha comprise of Surya, Chandra, Mangal, Buddh, Guru, Shukra, Shani, Rahu and Ketu. The Navagraha Puja is carried out to increase the positive effects and diminish the negative energies in an individual’s life.

Lord Shiva is the transformer in the Holy Trinity – Tridev. His importance and stories are spread far and wide. His rage against injustice is equally famous. And out of this rage, at some point, were born nine celestial bodies which are now commonly known as ‘Navagraha’. These Navagraha or ‘Nine Planets’ are cosmically connected to our horoscopes and are known to affect us either positively or negatively.

Benefits of Navagraha Puja

Most areas of our lives are defined by the placement and movement of the Navagrahas. The effects can be good as well as bad. If it is the latter then chanting the Navagraha Mantras and doing the Navagraha Puja can bring tremendous positive energy through vibrations. This Puja is considered as one of the best and the most powerful tools for pacifying the more enraged planets. The malefic outcomes can be reduced if the Puja is done with utmost sincerity.

  • While discussing the benefits of Navagraha Puja, one should also bear in mind what, the great Lord Vishnu is believed to have stated According to him,“The One who worships the Navagraha with pure faith and sincere adherence to all its rituals shall attain all the four Purusharth – Dharma, Artha, Kaam and Moksha”.
  • The ill-effects of the Navagrahas in the horoscopes are known as ‘Doshas’. The Navagraha Puja helps in the removal of these Doshas.
  • This Puja also enhances the power of the benevolent planets; thus removing the hurdles and obstacles from all spheres of our lives.
  • Ultimately, this leads to a person being blessed with love, joy, happiness and success in all areas of life.

Hence this Puja is highly recommended for all those people who are undergoing some major issues in their lives.


Navagraha Puja Vidhi

This mantra is easily accessible to every human being on this planet. One simply needs complete conviction, faith and devotion while chanting. Believe that the mantra will work for you.

  • The core of the Navagraha Puja is the Navagraha Yantra.
  • Other samagri for Navagraha puja includes ghee lamps, oil lamps, flowers, turmeric, kumkum, camphor, coconuts, fruits, rice grains, supari (betel nuts), Panchamrut (a mixture of milk, ghee, honey/sugar, curd and Tulsi leaves), sweets, etc. for the Havan Kund.
  • The Kalash is an important part of the Navagraha Puja.
  • Place a handful of grains and place a copper lota on it. Fill the Kalash – lota with water, holy water (Gangajal), akshata (rice grains), a betel nut and coins.
  • Place a red cloth around the lota. Place 5 mango leaves on the opening of the lota and secure them by placing a coconut over it in a way that it completely covers the opening.
  • The procedure is fairly simple. Each planet has its own mantra.
  • The yantra is symbolic of the Navagrahas.
  • People offer flowers, kumkum¸ rice, sweets, coconuts and fruits to all the nine planets.
  • While the offerings are made people should chant the respective mantras 108 times each.
  • The Puja has to be concluded with the Yagna (Hom i.e. the fire ritual).

Occasions to do a Navagraha Puja

Navagraha Puja is one of those amazing Pujas that can be done at any time and on any number of times in our lives. A Navagraha Puja is commonly done in conjunction with many other Pujas like Graha Shanti Puja, Vastu Shanti Puja or Satyanarayan Puja. It can be easily considered as a Cleansing Ritual. General occasions when Navagraha Puja can be done are

  • Before a marriage.
  • While buying a Property.
  • While buying an Automobile.
  • If undergoing Medical issues.
  • If going through business or financial troubles.
  • During phases of disharmony or mental disturbances.

Leave a Reply